Castle Directory

Irish Castles

Scots American Travel Advisors represent Castle properties in Northern Ireland.

Ireland:

CastleBellingham:
Bellingham Castle - Co. Louth

Cavan:
Cabra Castle Hotel - Kingscourt/Co Cavan

Clare:
Drumoland Castle - Newmarket on Fergus/Co Clare

Donegal:
Lough Eske Castle - Donegal Town/Co Donegal

Dublin:
Clontarf Castle - North Dublin
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel - South Dublin


Galway:

Abbeyglen Castle Hotel - Clifden/Co Galway
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel - Ballynahinch/Co Galway

Kerry:
Ballyseede Castle Hotel - Tralee/Co Kerry

Kildare:
Barberstown Castle - Straffan/Co Kildare
Kilkea Castle Hotel - Castledermot/Co Kildare

Leitrim:
Lough Rynn Castle -Mohill/Co Leitrim

Monaghan:
Castle Leslie - Glaslough/Co Monaghan

Mayo:
Ashford Castle - Cong/Co Mayo
Belleek Castle - Balina/ Co Mayo

Roscommon:
Kilronan Castle - Ballyfarnon/Co Roscommon


Sligo:

Markree Castle - Colloney/Co Sligo

Waterford:
Waterford Castle - Waterford/Co Waterford








 





 

Cabra Castle Hotel


Cabra Castle Hotel boasts a proud history dating as far back as 1760. It's long history lends a mature, cultured air to the Castle which can be felt by one and all as they stroll along the Castle's magnificent hallways and stairwells. Visit Ballyseede Castle Hotel - their Sister Castle Hotel in Tralee, Co. Kerry.

Cabra Castle has an extremely rich history. This history can be experienced by all hotel guests who wish to spend the night in one of eighty historical and richly designed bedrooms. Choosing from the splendor of the Lords bedchamber to the spacious elegance of the Courtyard Bedrooms or our charming gate lodge.

The original Cabra Castle, the ruins of which still stand on high ground above the Wishing Well - not far from Cromwell's Bridge, was situated to the west of the Kingscourt - Carrickmacross Road.
The Castle and the land surrounding it is believed to have belonged to the O'Reilly Family until it was confiscated in the mid 17th century by Cromwell's orders and given to Colonel Thomas Cooch. Colonel T. Cooch was born in Donegal in 1632 and was the grandson of Sir Thomas Cooch K.C. Sir Thomas Cooch K.C. had migrated to Ireland very early in the 17th century and was given a grant of 1,000 acres in Donegal by James I.  Colonel Thomas Cooch, first owner of Cabra Estate, married Elizabeth Mervyn, sister of Audley Mervyn (Speaker of the Irish House of Commons), and they had an only daughter and heiress, Elizabeth. This Elizabeth Cooch married firstly Nathaniel Pole, Sergeant of Arms of Ireland, of Geraldstown, Co. Meath, but he died in 1685 without any heirs.

Elizabeth then married Joseph Pratt, who lived not far off at Jaradice, Co. Meath, a property which he received when he migrated from Leicestershire to Ireland in 1641. This marriage (which was also Joseph Pratt's second) took place in 1686 and a son, Mervyn Pratt, was born in 1687.

At this time, Colonel T. Cooch was still the owner of Cabra but in 1695, he made a will leaving all his property to Mervyn Pratt, his grandson, and when Colonel T. Cooch died in 1699 the Cabra property came into the possession of the Pratt Family. Mervyn Pratt was then only twelve years old. He graduated from Trinity College, Dublin and married Elizabeth Coote, daughter of Sir T. Coote, Judge, and lived at Cabra near the Wishing Well.

The castle had been destroyed during the Cromwellian War and the Pratt Family at that time is summarized in the following information.

The Pratt Family continued to reside near the Wishing Well and to occupy Cabra land, including the site of the present town of Kingscourt. There was an old village of Cabra near the site of Kingscourt, but in 1780 Mervyn Pratt ( Grandson of Captain Mervyn Pratt, and son of the Reverend Joseph Pratt, who succeeded Captain Marvyn Pratt as owner of Cabra) laid out a new town of Kingscourt - an Anglicisation of Dun A Ri. He leased town plots with one rood of garden adjoining each, for 999 years, for one guinea a year per acre.

This scheme was continued by Mervyn Pratt's brother - another Reverend Joseph and it was during his time that the Kingscourt Rectory was built in 1816 with a gift of £100 and the site, and a loan of £825 from the Braid of First Fruits.

During this period the land on the opposite side (East) of the Carrickmacross Rd (where the present Cabra Castle stands) was owned by the Foster Family - whose main seat was at Dunleer. This land which contained an old round tower castle, called Cormey Castle. The main building was in ruins - destroyed during the Cromwellian War, however it's adjacent courtyard remained in good repair. In 1795 this land and Castle belonged to John Tomas Foster but he died leaving two young sons, both minors (Augustus being the eldest), who went to live with their mother (the Dowager Duchess of (Devonshire) in England.

Mr Henry Foster, cousin of the late John Foster, was appointed their Trustee and Executor, and in 1808 he rebuilt Cormy Castle. In doing so he exhausted the personal estate of his ward Augustus, and incurred debts, which made it necessary for the Castle and land to be sold.

At that time (1810) Colonel Joseph Pratt was the owner of Cabra Estate. Born in 1755 - he was the son of Rev. Joseph Pratt the second - referred to previously. His aunt, Ann Pratt, sister of Rev. Joseph Pratt, had married another Foster, and had lived at Cormy at a slightly earlier period - therefore there was a also link between the Pratts and the Fosters.

It also seems possible that Colonel Pratt lent Mr. Henry Foster money prior to his insolvency. There was an enquiry and Mr. Henry Foster was declared insolvent, and the remains of the Estate were taken over by Mr. Augustus Foster, the rightful Heir.

Colonel Joseph Pratt bought Cormy Castle with about 400 acres of Cormy Land from Mr Augustus Foster in 1813, and moved from Cabra House near the Wishing Well) to Castle in that year. For a few years he continued to use the original name of Cormy Castle for his new home, but later - in about 1820 - Colonel Pratt renamed it Cabra Castle, and it has been known by this name ever since.

Colonel Joseph Pratt had married Jamina, daughter of Sir James Tynte, and had ten children. The eldest - Mervyn, born in 1807, married Madeleline Jackson, only daughter and heiress of Colonel Jackson of Enniscoe, Co. Mayo. They inherited this property when Colonel Pratt died. He succeeded his father, Col. Joseph Pratt, as owner of Cabra in 1863, but from this time onwards the interests of the Pratt Family were divided between Cabra in Co. Cavan, and Enniscoe in Co. Mayo. Mervyn Pratt died in 1890 and was succeeded on his death by his eldest son - Major Mervyn Pratt, in 1927.

Major Mervyn Pratt was badly wounded in the Boer War and never married. He lived permanently at Enniscoe, and left Cabra unoccupied. His younger brother, Colonel Audley Pratt, was killed in the First World war and also was unmarried.

Major Mervyn Pratt died at Enniscoe in December 1950, and left Cabra to his nearest male relative - Mervyn Sheppard, a Malayan Civil Servant. The burden of death duties, taxation, rates, cost of repairs to the Castle, and farm losses made it impossible for him to live there. In 1964, he reluctantly disposed of the property, 265 years after Cabra land first came into the family possession.

In 1964, a local family - the Brennan Family, bought Cabra Castle. They renovated the building and converted it into a 22 bedroom hotel.

It was in their ownership up until 1986, when it was then sold to a group of Arabs. They closed down the hotel, finished off pre-booked functions, and then kept the building as a private house. Having closed the Castle, with view to retaining it as a private house, political and economic circumstances in the Middle East prevented the new Arab owners from further enjoyment and development of the property. It effectively lay idle until 1991, when it was purchased by its present owners, the Corscadden family who re-opened it as a hotel. Since then the property has been extensively refurbished and expanded from 24 bedrooms, to incorporate the former Courtyard area bringing the total number of bedrooms to 80..

back to top





 
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel



The Abbeyglen Castle was built in 1832 by John d'Arcy of Clifden Castle, 33 years before Mitchell Henry built Kylemore Abbey in 1865.

D'Arcy, who founded Clifden in 1812, was considered a leader of the community and was frequently consulted by the local constabulary in time of trouble or unrest.

Following d'Arcy's death, his son Mitchen sold the property to the Irish Church Mission Society in 1854. As a result of the Famine the estate hit troubled times and the property fell derelict.

In 1969, the Joyce family, then owners, sold the property to the Hughes family, who through the years have improved the castle and gardens to their present state..


back to top
 




 
Ballynahinch Castle
Luxury Hotel in Ireland, Castle Resort Hotel 4 Four Star Accommodation, Connemara County Galway in West of Ireland at Ballynahinch Castle Hotel.

Welcome to Ballynahinch Castle Hotel in the heart of Connemara. Here on the West Coast of Ireland in the country's most beautiful region, Ballynahinch offers the luxury and comforts of an international four star hotel. Whether you’re looking for the ideal wedding venue in Ireland, a romantic honeymoon hideaway or an activity weekend away, Ballynahinch Castle has it all. Ballynahinch Castle Hotel is an intimate 4 star hotel set in 450 acres of woodlands, rivers and walks in the heart of Connemara, Galway.

It stands proud and majestic overlooking the famous Ballynahinch Salmon River, whilst being surrounded the splendor of the Twelve Bens Mountain Range.

Ballynahinch Castle is steeped in a wealth of tradition and has been intertwined in the history of Connemara and its people for many centuries. From the days of the O'Flaherty Chieftains, to Grace O'Malley, the Pirate Queen of Connemara, to Humanity Dick Martin, founder of the society for the prevention of cruelty to animals and to H.R.H. the Maharajah Ranjitsinji, also known as the 'Ranji', Prince of Cricketeers.

As one of the premier Castle Hotels in Ireland, Ballynahinch Castle has a charm and aura, which can best be described as 'Casual Country Elegance', which few forget and most return for. From the luxurious riverside rooms with 4-poster beds, to the elegant restaurant and the informal and intimate Fisherman's Pub.

Savour the rich ambience that makes Ballynahinch Castle the jewel in the crown of Connemara...

With unpretentious elegance, the friendly and professional staff, of this 450 acre sporting estate will do their utmost to provide you with a unique experience. You can choose to enjoy fly fishing, golf, horse back riding, gardens, hiking, cycling or simply relax by one of our open log fires and our team will be on hand to make sure you enjoy your visit.

With unpretentious elegance, the friendly and professional staff, of this 450 acre sporting estate will do their utmost to provide you with a unique experience. You can choose to enjoy fly fishing, golf, horse back riding, gardens, hiking, cycling or simply relax by one of our open log fires and their team will be on hand to make sure you enjoy your visit.

back to top




 
Ballyseede Castle Hotel

Ballyseede Castle offers you the chance to appreciate history, while relaxing and enjoying a break from hectic life. Come and hear the stories, sample the fine cuisine and enjoy the Craic in the heart of Kerry, in Ireland.

Ballyseede Castle offers you the chance to appreciate History, while relaxing and enjoying a break from hectic life. This history can be experienced by all hotel guests who wish to spend a night in one of the hotel’s historical and richly designed luxurious bedrooms - you may even meet their resident friendly ghost Hilda!

Bedrooms are elegant and spacious and come in a large variety from single to mini suite to deluxe.

All the bedrooms have been totally refurbished. They are individually designed and are decorated with taste and imagination. The bedrooms offer a magnificent view of the grounds of the castle. All their bedrooms are ensuite with direct dial phone and satellite television.

There are also many gracious public areas available for the guests use throughout the castle. The Residents Lounge and the Pembroke Room, both drawing rooms, are decorated with cornices of ornamental foliage plaster and adorned by marble fireplaces. A magnificent carved oak mantelpiece also ornaments the Library Bar.

Please visit their sister castle Cabra Castle in Co Cavan

Ballyseede Castle History:
Ballyseede Castle is located on its own thirty acres of gardens and woodland. At the approach is an imposing entrance gateway with pillars of block granite.

The Castle stands on its own grounds at the end of a winding carriage drive. This elegant Castle looks as if it were built to outlive the vices and follies of man. It has been fought over, lived in and loved, and carries forward its ancient grandeur to this age.

Ballyseede Castle was the chief garrison of the legendary Fitzgerald’s, Earls of Desmond, many of whom refused to swear allegiance to the crown, which resulted in the infamous Geraldine Wars that continued intermittently for three centuries and concluded with the beheading of Gerald, 16th Earl, in the Demesne of Ballyseede and whose head was exhibited in a cage on London Bridge

Following the defeat of the Desmoids in 1584, the Castle plus 3000 acres of land was granted as a perpetual lease to Robert Blennerhassett, the rent being one red rose to be presented each year on Midsummer’s Day. This noble family and their descendants occupied Ballyseede until 1966.

Ballyseede Castle is a large three-story block over a basement, with two curved bows on the entrance front and another bow at the south side and a battlemented parapet. Inside the impressive lobby, Doric columns lead to an elegant wooden bifurcating staircase of fine oak joinery, which is almost unique in Ireland.

There are two magnificent drawing rooms with cornices plasterwork, adorned by marble fireplaces, which are ideal to have afternoon tea or morning coffee. The gracious dining room overlooks the front lawn with its ancient oaks. Dinner is served nightly from 7pm to 9pm. In the library bar there is a great-carved oak chimneypiece over mantle dated 1627. There is a splendid Banqueting Hall where feastings and entertainment were carried out in a grand manner.

To continue its history the Castle boast the ghost of Landlords past and they are known to walk the long corridors in the basement level. On the 24th of March each year the ghost is known to make its presence felt as it did on that night in 1998 when the residents of the castle vacated their rooms and were last heard of when they went to a local bookshop and asked for a book on ghosts. They told the shop assistant they had a frightening experience “they saw a Spirit”. This is the first time anyone was scared of the ghost. The past residents of the castle fondly call the ghost Hilda.

Back to top




 
Kilkea Castle


Kilkea Castle is Ireland's pre-eminent castle hotel and golf club. Less than an hour from Dublin, our magnificent rose gardens and skillfully renovated rooms provide a unique setting for your holiday, wedding or business conference.

Kilkea Castle was built in 1180 and is the oldest continuously inhabited castle in Ireland. The immediate builder and the first occupier was one Sir Walter de Riddlesford, a young knight who had accompanied the first invasion party of Anglo/Normans in 1170. From his name he was probably of Anglo/Saxon, rather than Norman stock, but was reputed to be a relation of the King's. Apart from building Kilkea. however, he played no other prominent part in history and the family in fact died out in the third generation.

The pattern of life which centered around the Castle was very much the same as everywhere else in Ireland, namely recurrent war, usually local for summer time soldiers only, but periodically on a national scale. Because of war time conditions, the records are very inadequate; perhaps this is just as well as the story is sadly monotonous. One example may suffice. In the year 1414 news came to Dublin that the tribes of Leinster had broken in to besiege Kilkea and threaten Castledermot The Archbishop of Dublin, Thomas Cranley, combined his sacred office with that of Lord Deputy or Chief Governor and also Chief Justice. He rapidly raised an army and took the field as Commander in Chief in person. Arriving at Castledermot he then handed over to a field commander and retired to the Abbey of the Crouched Friars where the community he marched in procession around the grounds and offered prayers for the success of the cause. Their prayers were answered. The O'Mores and other enemies were defeated with the loss of a hundred men and the army withdrew victorious. This is typical of the kind of event which went on recurring for some four hundred years. The then earl of Kildare showed no gratitude for this service, but took care not to let it happen again; in 1421 when another attack developed, he settled the matter in person. These battles against the free Irish, coupled with a hot-blooded feud against Butler of Ormond, and the cost of modernising Kilkea and Maynooth Castles, seem to have temporarily improvished the family. About this time , there is a record that the Earl (Or his son) was left off a heavy fine imposed on him for breaches of the peace, on account of 'his gentle blood and no small poverty'.

The troubles of 1919-1923 broke up the ducal family, as indeed they broke up the whole state of society which these represented. The 7th Duke, alienated the Carton estate to an English tailor for £1,300 a year. In 1973 he was still alive and not long before that it had been announced that the annuity constituted his sole income. Some members of the family still clung on, in particular his uncle Lord Walter Fitzgerald and the unmarried aunts. One aunt, Lady Nesta, even attempted to continue at Carton, living in the Stables, where she is believed to have given shelter to I.R.A. men on the run. She had to give up, and retired also to Kilkea where Lord Walter had been living since 1899. Much of the contents of the Carton were sold by auction for a song, as might be expected in the prevailing circumstances of civil war.

Lord Walter a special mention. He served as an Army Officer, but retired in 1899, aged 31, to live at Kilkea for the rest of his life. Here he became the best known antiquarian scholar in Ireland. He was the leading spirit behind the foundation of the County Kildare Archaeological Society and acted as both Secretary and Editor of the journal. His specialization was in his own county and he knew every inch of it. There were times when four fifths of the contents of the Journal were in his hand. For nearly all period, his only means of transportation were by train and bicycle.

His appearance exactly matched the role. In shape, short and squat, with a countryman's complexion and drooping gold rimmed spectacles pinched on the bridge of his nose. His clothing was usually green, -cloth cap, Norfolk jacket, knickerbockers and thick woollen stockings. He liked in initiate a conversation in Irish, then reverting into English with a strong Irish accent. Only when excited, as for example in an archaeological discussion, would he revert to the precise English accent of his military training. In old age, Lord Walter exactly resembled an up to fate version of Mr. Pickwick, who himself had started the Pickwick Club as an Archaeological Society round Highgate, Brixton and Camberwall, had traced to their source the ponds of Hampstead and agitated the world with his theory of titlebats. Of course there were many anecdotes about Lord Walter, now known only to a few, but there is hardly space in this account to repeat such frivolities. He died, aged 65, in 1923, at the height of the Civil War.

Fifty years later, his name is probably remembered only by antiquarians, but it is worthy of being remembered, for he loved his country as well as his county. His task was, not merely to preserve antiquities at a time when they were being abandoned or burnt, but also to inject truth into the clouds of legend, often spiteful, which invested popular historical tradition. If any time visitors to Kilkea castle should happen to see a ghost, they should hope it will be Lord Walter on his green bicycle, rather than the Wizard Earl on his white charger.

The sisters survived him at Kilkea and they were buried beside his grave. After World War II the house was occupied by the Marquess of Kildare. In about 1960 he went to live permanently in England, where his professional employment lay; with him went the rest of the family possessions which had survived the former debacle. The land was taken by the Land Commission and divided up. The Castle was sold to Lord Brocket, who soon after sold again to speculator, who cut sown the mature trees. There was a story then, and still current, that the new owner also intended to demolish the Castle, -a feat which not even Cromwell had successfully achieved, but this may be only pious legend. In 1965, the Castle was acquired by Mr.William Cade.

back to top





 
Lough Rynn Castle

Lough Rynn Castle Estate and Hotel, Leitrim, Ireland is the original 19th Century Home of the Clements Family, which was headed by the legendary figure of Lord Leitrim. The development comprises a luxury 52 bed-roomed hotel together with a World Class Spa and Leisure facility and a Championship Golf Course designed by Nick Faldo due for completion in Summer 2008 . The extensive walled gardens and walkways were originally envisaged for the exclusive pleasure of Royalty on the shores of Lough Rynn and Lough Errew in County Leitrim in the north west of Ireland.

The entire facility comprises over 300 acres of an Ireland that is idyllic, rich in history and charmed with natural beauty. Lough Rynn Castle Estate has so many interesting features people have been coming here for years to roam the lands. But by the time it has been completely restored, Lough Rynn Castle Estate will be something else entirely. An estate which was once the finest in Leitrim is becoming one of the finest in the country. While the setting is amazing, the luxury castle hotel is on a par with anything Ireland has to offer and the Championship Golf Course is the first Nick Faldo design in the Republic of Ireland. The gardens will be soon back to their former glory and be arguably the finest privately owned gardens in the country.

As you approach the castle, you will pass the elegant fairways, copses and paddocks, past two lakes and over a rustic bridge. The estate has pockets of development, each of which is hidden from the others so that you are constantly surprised as you explore.

Other facilities on Lough Rynn Castle Estate will include:
Conference and Wedding Facilities
World Class Spa with Treatment Rooms
A leisure centre with indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna
3 and 4 bedroom townhouses, semi-detached and detached houses built and finished to the highest standards
The finest privately owned gardens in the country with nature trails and lakeside walks
A square mile of lake, and an abundance of local lakes for boating and fishing
Horse riding and other country pursuits

History:
Lough Rynn Estate was the ancestral home of the Earl of Leitrim whose family owned 96 thousand acres of land in Ireland. The House and Garden date back nearly 200 years and have been enhanced and developed ever since. Although more of a Victorian Manor it was called Lough Rynn Castle and was without doubt the finest big house in the country in its time. The gothic character of the architecture together with the traditional walled garden and converted French Stable yards provide a journey through history that can only be provided in such an environment.

back to top





 
Markree Castle

FOR 370 YEARS, the Cooper family have been living in this mighty castle in county Sligo in the North West of Ireland. Markree has been lovingly restored by the current owner Charles Cooper and his wife Mary to become one of the finest country house hotels in Ireland.

Markree Castle offers a quiet and relaxing atmosphere for get-away breaks and it's location, in the heart of the countryside that inspired the great poet and playwright W.B. Yeats, makes it an ideal 'home-from-home' for longer stays. We also cater for weddings and functions, and can offer exclusive use of our facilities and grounds.

A castle since the 14th century, with the most recent redesign taking place in the late 1800s, Markree is an architectural gem where the very finest in Irish Victorian architecture is to be seen. Our Rococo-style dining room and recently renovated chapel are renowned examples of the work of local and foreign craftsmen alike.

The spacious guests rooms have all modern comforts while retaining their old-world charm. All rooms are individually decorated with a view out on the beautiful formal gardens or the parkland and the river Unsin which flows by the castle walls.

With easy access to local golf courses and horse-riding facilities available on the estate, Markree is a gate-way to the West and North-West.

For 350 years the Cooper family have been living at Markree Castle. Their story is a journey through time, starting in the 16th century with the invasion of Ireland by Cromwell.

The young officer, Edward Cooper, was serving under Cromwell when his army defeated the mighty O’Brien Clan. O’Brien himself lost his life in this battle and Edward married his widow Máire Rua (Red Mary). With her and her two sons he went to live at Luimneach Castle in Limerick, which is now a ruin. She had her two sons take the name of Cooper as protection from the English invaders. Cromwell’s army marched on, further northwards in spite of the fact that he did not have the means to pay his officers. Instead, he gave them large pieces of land. Thus, he gave Markree Castle and the surrounding grounds to Edward Cooper. Until then, Markree had been a fortified outpost of the McDonagh Clan, protected on three sides by the river Unshin. Of Máire Rua’s two sons the first was left the castle in Limerick and the second inherited Markree Castle. Charles Cooper, the current owner, is a direct descendant of the second son. Times remained turbulent and during an attempt by the English King James to regain the throne, Markree Castle was occupied by the Catholic army and the Coopers had to flee. After the battle of the Boyne in 1690, they returned and have been resident here ever since except for a brief period during the Civil War in the 1920s Markree was again occupied, this time by the Free State army.

The family was always politically involved and several ancestors represented the County at Westminster. They did not always follow party policy (maybe because they were descended from the O’Briens) and opposed the Act of Union, which sought to dissolve the parliament in Dublin and centralize power in London, in 1802. The Coopers’ opposition to the Act of Union cost them the title that they had been promised and it is for this reason that Markree is one of the very few castles in Ireland that is not owned by a titled family. In 1922, the grandfather of the current owner Charles Cooper was one of the two members of Westminster Parliament who were also elected as a TD to the first Dáil Eireann (the Irish Parliament) after independence. After the Second World War Markree Castle fell on hard times and it stood empty and derelict for many years. In the early 1980s it appeared on the front cover of a book entitled Vanishing Houses of Ireland, a testament to the sad state of decay in which many of Ireland’s great houses found themselves. In 1989, Charles Cooper, having worked in the hotel business all his life, came back to Markree to renovate the castle and run it as a hotel.

Each generation left its mark on the estate, but the castle as we can see it today, dates from 1802 with some changes made, mainly to the interior, in 1896. Walking around the outside of the Castle you can see dates of completion carved in stone on the walls. The stained glass window in the hall traces the Cooper family tree from Victorian times back to the time of King John. The restaurant is an architectural masterpiece designed by Francis Johnston and executed by Italian craftsmen.

A conservation area, the estate holds an array of wild life from red squirrels, to otters, to kingfishers. It has proved inspirational and the hymn All Things Bright and Beautiful was written here in the 1800s. At the heart of Yeats’ Country, the poet W.B. Yeats was a guest here when the Castle was still a private residence. More recently the singer-songwriter Johnny Cash and the golfer Tom Watson have stayed here.

The castle boasts 30 guest bedrooms with all modern amenities and beautiful views over the gardens and the surrounding landscape. It available for weddings and other functions, conferences and team-building days, as well as a quiet few days break away from the rat-race. Dinner is served each evening in the restaurant, with a full lunch served on Sundays. Afternoon teas and light lunches are available in the lounge.

back to top
 
 
 
Bellingham Castle

Bellingham Castle is an elegant and spacious 17th Century Irish castle offering exclusive venue hire in Ireland’s North East only 45 minutes from Dublin and 1 hour from Belfast.

Located in the heart of the medieval village of Castlebellingham in Co Louth and approached via a private, tree-flanked driveway, Bellingham Castle is the centrepiece of a 17 acre estate. Set on the banks of the River Glyde, our estate includes a weir and man-made river island with footbridges, mature trees and formal lawns and gardens.
- 4 Stars -
 
back to top
 

 

 

Scots-American Travel Advisors       © Copyright - All Rights Reserved
** Disclaimer ** The information published on the Scots American Travel Advisors web site is provided as a convenience to visitors and should be used for information purposes only. It is subject to change without notice. Whilst Scots American Travel Advisors uses all reasonable efforts to ensure that the information contained on its web site is current, accurate and complete at the date of publication, no representations or warranties are made (express or implied) as to the reliability, accuracy or completeness of such information. Scots American Travel Advisors can therefore not be held liable for any loss arising directly or indirectly from the use of, or any action taken in reliance on, any information appearing on this web site.